Part One- Proposal and Production Journal

Project Concept

For my FMP I am going to create a music video to Last Friday Night by Katy Perry. My music video is going to be different to the actual music video as there is more literal shots to specific bits and more dancing and a lot less people involved as in Katy’s there was at least over 50 people but in mine I only had 7 ; but overall I think this will be a different concept to remakes of this music video as it is not an actual remake and mine shows a house party between teenagers and also stereotypes that I will include which have a major part of my generation and to this society at the moment, the main stereotype I will include is LGBTQ. I have been thinking about this idea for a while as I wanted to create an almost party scene as it sounds like a really good idea.

My overall aim is to create a different atmosphere to an adult house party and to make it into a teenage house party even though Katy Perry is an adult acting like a teenager . My main inspiration came from Marc Klasfeld who is a director which will include my own footage of party scenes and the track of Last Friday Night.

I also want to highlight not only can adults have a fun party without their teenage sons or daughters but thier sons and daughters can also enjoy their own freedom and make new friendships or even build up friendships with different people,even though there can be a lot of dangers with house party’s there are a lot of good outcomes too

I will be doing my research by looking into Katy Perry by reading articles and facts about her, I will also look into the making of Last Friday Night and making a google form to find out my classes personal choices of music, music videos and artists.

While making this music video; I will be starring in and filming on a phone as it gives off more of a party sense,and using final cut pro to edit but I will do a practice edit on capcut to make sure all the clips fit together.

Evaluation

Once I have finished my project I will write up about how I feel about it, whether it looks professional and how much I have improved on my skills as a cinematographer . All of my thought process and ideas will be logged into my diary that I shall write weekly, along with any changes that I may make along the way. I really want this music video to be as professional and as well planned as I can, if there is anything that I find I can do along the way to improve on my skills.

Journal

Week One 7-11th March 2022

This week I started all my planning. I kept going off track and not actually focusing on what I wanted to do for my FMP but I ended up staying focused one thing I made sure was not to really listen to the song ‘Last Friday Night’ as I did not want to get bored of it before I had even started to edit or get the lyrics, I had asked my class group chat on Snapchat if they wanted to be involved in my music video , some of them replied saying yes, I also asked some of my friends in the other media class if they wanted to join in too which worked out well as I had a few more people to help with it. Once I knew who was going to be involved it took a lot of pressure off me as I did not think people were going to say yes then I would have to change my idea. I managed to plan before everyone else and I had this idea a while back but I was never certain of it. I finished up sorting my planning out by writing up the lyrics to the song, after I had finished all the planning I started working on my research about Katy Perry and wrote about her on my blog. I also found out how the official video of Last Friday Night was filmed which I found very interesting as it showed me a lot more than I thought. I kept making sure my music video was going to run smoothly by checking people still wanted to be involved, the main idea I wanted to create for my FMP was everyone who was going to be involved had fun and created some memories. I annotated the lyrics and thought of what I could do for them. Although, I kept thinking it was not going to work and started to think about changing my idea to make it more interesting i was going to change it to a more upbeat song but over the weekend I decided to keep it to this. During the weekend I also started working on my storyboards, after this was mainly done it made me feel proud and i gained a lot more confidence .

Week two- 14th- 18th March 2022

This week I carried on with my storyboards and the research and made sure it was all written up on my blog. I did some extra research into pop artists because of Katy’s clothing styles in her music videos are based off their style. After I had finished most of the research I started to think about what props i would need and ordered them on Amazon. I finished up my storyboards. For the extra research i found out a lot more information and I really enjoyed working on the research as it showed me a lot more skills and knowledge. When I had ordered the props I started thinking on how I could add them correctly or even just use them during my music video., I also started thinking of how I wanted to include everyone who agreed to be in my music video, I did not ask for specific costumes ad i wanted the actors to be comfortable in whatever they wanted to dance in. This week I felt a lot more happier as I was almost done with the planning but it also made me feel nervous as I was thinking of filming soon and the pressure was getting to me as i knew i was almost done with my research. Over the weekend I manged to get most of the pre- production sheets down.

Week three- 21st-25th March 2022

I made sure I had finished my research and the pre- production sheets, Once I had finished my storyboards I did not really like how they turned out so ended up not actually using them in my final product. I booked out a camera to film the shots, I also booked the tv studio in college for the 6th April. I started working on my pitch in which I had to add: the outline of my music video, the run time, a detailed target audience , the inspiration behind my idea, key conclusions form my research and my production schedule. My props all arrived during the week . The props I had ordered were : A pink flamingo, A blow up saxophone, plastic dress- up handcuffs and some glitter, i also brought some plastic cups. I wrote a checklist to make sure I had everything for the next two weeks. My teacher looked over my research and told me what I could add to be more descriptive with certain bits , I started to add them to my blog. The pressure was really building up this week as the filming day was not that far away.

Week four- 28th March- 1st April 2022

I made sure everything on my research was completed but i kept adding to the bits that needed more work, I also finished up on the pre- production sheets that needed to be completed . When completing the pre- production sheets I could really feel the pressure on completing my FMP and my idea I thought was not going to work but I made sure I stuck to it . I finished up my pitch on the Wednesday as i was going to present it after I had filmed, I worked on the recce sheets and wrote down a lot of my ideas before finalizing it on my blog as if I did end up changing my idea I knew I wouldn’t have to start worrying about it being on my blog. As I did not really like the outcome of my storyboard I thought I could just do more dancing shots and maybe some more literal shots in my house and the park, the reason I did not like my storyboard was I thought it was going to be to literal and would of needed more actors to be involved which I thought wouldn’t work and it also did not end up looking right.

Week five 5-9th April 2022

On Monday I was doubling checking I was ready to film on the Wednesday , On Tuesday my friend Maddie stayed the night to help me get everything sorted to film . Finally the Wednesday came once we got in we blew up the flamingo and saxophone , But the only issue was I did not end up getting the camera and I ended up forgetting my college id at home which was a pain but we thought around it pretty quickly and we end up using Maddie’s phone as we thought it would look better. Maddie and I set up the Tv Studio and put the white screen up and made sure all of us wouldn’t get hurt , I added the balloons to the back so it looked more of a part setting, I also set the lighting to red, white and blue as worked really well on the camera. Shakeira and I started to filmed the literal shots that I needed at the start, when filming the glitter bit didn’t look right so we had a few challenges with the glitter but it worked out in the end. After we had filmed the literal shot I got the dancing shots ready. Serene, Finely, Shakeira and I started to film the dancing shots , Maddie did join in a little bit but she was filming, After a while two more people joined in. I got my friend Nathan to do the worm as i thought it would work at the begging of the video which it did really well. We all ended up dancing for about an hour and half which during that I got a lot of footage. the good thing was we were all just having fun and singing to songs and dancing. I made sure we weren’t dancing to Last Friday Night the whole time so we had on some other party songs as I knew if we kept listing to Last Friday Night it would just get to repetitive and really boring. After, Nathan and Oli left we all tidied up and cooled off as it get really hot. Once this was all over I was really happy and proud of myself as we got so many different shots of all the actors enjoying themselves , I always was putting myself down as I thought it wouldn’t go well, I also started putting all the clips together on my phone.

Week six -11th-15th April 2022

I started to make a rough plan to my edit but I didn’t have all the shots yet so it wasn’t the actual final edit , I also wrote up everything that I needed to finish on my blog . I did my pitch , and planned when to film the other shots, but I did not end up doing as much as I hoped this week as I had a show that I do outside college so I tried to work on the edit but I didn’t want to stress myself out which my show and the edit on top but I did. I wanted to do a lot more but I did as much as I could.#

Week 7- 18th – 22nd April 2022

I filmed some more shots but and continued on the edit I did not add them and I felt a lot less stressed as I had worked with the dancing shots and they ended up working really well with the edit and song. I could of done more but this half term was pretty busy.

Week eight- 23rd- 29th April 2022

I booked out a hard drive so I could start working to make my edit on final cut pro it went better than expected, I added the literal shots to the dancing shots. I did get annoyed with the song but i kept going on working on the edit for the week, once I had finished I uploaded it to YouTube and showed my teacher she told me to make the edit a bit more better by using some more effects or losing the literal shots and add some overlay of me mouthing the words which I would film next week. I made sure I took out the literal shots as looking back over my edit I did not like how they turned out as they looked sort of rushed and messy.

Week nine- 2nd-6th May 2022

Once I filmed the shot that I needed to. it took a while as I kept not liking how it had turned out but once I filmed it I added it to my edit and I really liked it so at first it looked messy as I had added it all over the song so I cut it up to make it look at lot less messy which I really liked, I uploaded it to YouTube again and my teacher said it was looking a lot better , I uploaded my pre- production sheets and completed the consent forms of everyone in my music video and put them on my blog.

Week 10 – 9th – 14th May 2022

I showed a few people my edit and they all said they really enjoyed it, I continued to write up how it went on my blog and I was really happy with my final outcome, I made sure I was productive this week , I helped a few people with filming their music videos which made it very productive as I was not always working on my own work

Week 11/12 16th-27th May 2022

I finished up everything on my blog during these weeks and I felt really happy with how much I had completed. On 20th May all my class watched each others final work and I got lots of feedback and there was a lot of ideas what I could definitely work on for next time, watching all the others FMPs was really inspiring as it showed everyone’s creativity and how different each others all which I am so proud of everything that went down with filming.

So, to wrap up everything this course and project has helped me massively and I am incredibly grateful for all of it. It has taught me a lot of new skills and taught me confidence which I did not know I had, although there was a lot of challenges on the way I managed to complete it maybe not the way I had hoped but I am overall really proud of my final edit .

Leave a comment